Call Us: 0208 478 5115


Information on Step system (Devised by Pearson-Edexcel Exam board)

As levels have been abolished by the government, every school has to decide themselves on how to measure progress. We have decided to follow the step system devised by Pearson-Edexcel as most of our GCSEs are undertaken with this Exam board.

For ages 11-16 there are 12 Steps from low to high performance.

In most subjects, expected average progress for a student is one Step per year.


Example of expected progress from Year 7 to 11

Steps Transition 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th
  • Average Step Year 7: Step 4
  • Average Step Year 8: Step 5
  • Average Step Year 9: Step 6
  • Average Step Year 10: Step 7
  • Average Step Year 11: Step 8 (approx Grade 5 at GCSE- a good pass in new 9-1 GCSEs)

Information on New GCSEs

GCSEs are now graded 9–1, rather than A*–G, with grade 5 considered a good pass and grade 9 being the highest and set above the old grade of A*. This system is intended to help provide more differentiation, especially among higher achieving students.

RAGG system

A student’s position on a step can be shown in more detail, as: Red, Amber, Green or Gold.

  • Red (R) – low end of step
  • Amber (A) – lower middle of step
  • Green (Gr) – upper middle
  • Gold (Gl) – High end of step
  • For example someone on step 4 could be 4R, 4A, 4GR or 4GL.

Subscribe monthly newsletter